If you cannot view this email, please click here  
May 2015

Election to the HKCA Council

The ballot papers have been posted to all fellows and members. The ballot paper must reach the College no later than 5:00pm on Thursday 18 June 2015. The details of the candidates can be found on can be found on College’s website Members’ Area.



Visit to The College of Anaesthetists of Ireland (CAI)

The HKCA delegation, which included Dr CHOW Yu Fat, Associate Prof CHEUNG Chi Wai, Prof Michael IRWIN, Dr Simon CHAN and Dr KOO Chi Hung visited the CAI on 23-26 March 2015. The programme of the visit included sharing of HKCA’s and CAI’s current examination and training system, observing the CAI Membership Exam, visiting the training hospitals and simulation centre and meeting with CAI executives.



Center for Medical Simulation (CMS) Visiting Scholars Program

Dr Patricia Kan, who is working at Prince of Wales Hospital was chosen to visit CMS in Boston for a 2-month period through the CMS Visiting Scholars Program. The following link is her eye-opening experience that she shared with the Academy Focus.
CMS Visiting Scholars Program - Patricia Kan


Vocational Training Guide (VTG)

The following addition clause has been approved by both HKCA council and HKAM Education Committee. The revised VTG has been updated on College’s website.

1.25 All trainees joining the training programme after 30th June 2015 are required to complete the Advanced and Difficult Airway Management Workshop for Anaesthetists (ADAM-A) course after their first year of anaesthesia training.



Annual Scientific Meeting in Anaesthesiology 2015, Jointly Organized by HKCA and SAHK

The Annual Scientific Meeting 2015 (ASM 2015) will be held on 14-15 November 2015 at the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre. Please save the date and the details will be announced soon.



Dr Denis C. FitzPatrick (1931-2015)

The College regretfully informs our Fellows and Members of the death of Dr Denis C. FitzPatrick. The College offers its heartfelt condolences to Dr FitzPatrick’s family, friends and colleagues. Dr FitzPatrick’s valuable contributions to the anaesthesia profession will long be remembered and appreciated.



International Symposium on Spine and Paravertebral Sonography for Anaesthesia and Pain Medicine 2015

Message from Convener

The Symposium will be held from 30 October to 1 November 2015 at Marriott Courtyard Hotel in Shatin, Hong Kong and it is organized by the Department of Anaesthesia and Intensive Care, The Chinese University of Hong Kong. This will be the seventh event since its inception in 2009. Today this symposium has established itself as a forum for clinicians to share experience and advance their knowledge in the use of ultrasound for central neuraxial and paravertebral interventions in anaesthesia and pain medicine. Like in previous years the scientific committee has put together a thought provoking scientific program in which opinion leaders and renowned experts from around the world and locally will discuss the most updated information on this state of the art field of anaesthesia and pain medicine, and beyond.
For further details, please visit http://www.usgraweb.hk/issps2015/index.htm.




History of Anaesthesia Society Summer Scientific Meeting 2015

History of Anaesthesia Society will take place at the Falmouth Hotel, Falmouth (Cornwall), England on Friday and Saturday 2-3 July 2015. For details, please refer to History of Anaesthesia Society’s website http://www.histansoc.org.uk/ .






The 5th Cross Strait Four Regions Anaesthesia Quality Meeting - Call for Abstract

The 5th Cross Strait Four Regions Anaesthesia Quality Meeting will be organized on 30 October to 1 November 2015 in Changzhou, Jiangsu province, China. The details of abstract submission can be found here.


NTEC Simulation and Training Center

The NTEC Simulation and Training Centre courses scheduled for 2015 can be found here.




The certificates of the following fellows have not been collected yet. To collect your certificate, please go to the College's Office during office hour.

Cheung Yee Nin Vivian; Li Ho Yin Adrian; Ng Nga Lai Alice

FHKCA (Pain Med):
Lam Cheung Kwan Brian; Li Luk Sing; Tam Lee Ka

Mak Ho Kwong Peter


Link to previous TUOHY