If you cannot view this email, please click here  
May 2011



HKCA Conference Grant for CSM 2011
The CSM has been held successfully with more than 2000 delegates. Thanks for the Regional Organizing Committee's effort. Don't forget to apply for the HKCA Conference Grant for CSM 2011. Just simply fill in and return the conference grant application form to the College together with the attendance certificate and the receipt. The conference grant application form
can be downloaded here.

Fellowship in Pain Medicine
Message from the Chair of Board of Pain Medicine

The Board of Pain Medicine has prepared a set of documents in relation to the development of the Fellowship Training Programme in Pain Medicine. These documents have been drafted by our Workgroup on Pain Medicine Training Programme and have taken into consideration the points of view of our fellows and members from our previous consultations and forums. They have been endorsed by the College Council and are planned to be submitted through the Council to the Hong Kong Academy of Medicine by the end of the year 2011. The development of a fellowship training programme is vital in the advancement of the field of Pain Medicine and we would value the input from our fellows and members. Please kindly send your comments and suggestions to us via email (office@hkca.edu.hk) or mail to the HKCA Office at Room 807, The HKAM Building, 99 Wong Chuk Hang Road, Aberdeen, Hong Kong.

Dr Steven Wong
Board of Pain Medicine, HKCA
May 2011

Annual General Meeting

This year's Annual General Meeting (AGM) will be held on 22 June 2011 (Wednesday) at James Kung Meeting Room, 2/F, HKAM Jockey Club Building, Aberdeen. Fellows and members will receive the AGM notice shortly.
- Twenty-Second Annual General Meeting

- Financial Statement and Treasurer's Report 2010 (You are required to log on Members' Area of the College's website to view the documents.)

Honorary Fellow - Dr. Zoltan Lett

The HKCA has admitted Dr. Zoltan Lett as Honorary Fellow. Prof Michael Irwin, the President of the College flew to UK and presented the Honorary Fellowship to Dr Zoltan Lett as he is not able to come to Hong Kong due to his health condition. With the help of Dr Ronald Lo and Colonel Ivan T Houghton, the Honorary Fellowship was presented at Peterhouse, the nursing home that Dr Lett is currently staying. The presentation was filmed and the video was played at the Combined College Ceremony at CSM 2011. If you have missed the memorable occasion, you may click the link below to view the video again.

- Video of Honorary Fellowship Presentation
- Citation of Dr Zoltan Lett

Final Fellowship Examination in Anaesthesiology

The examination was held on 6-7 May 2011 and the College is grateful to Dr KL Kong of RCA for his assistance as External Examiner. The pictures of the examination have been uploaded to HKCA website. Please feel free to check it out here.  

Formal Project Prize

The result was announced at the CSM 2011 Gala Dinner and the 2011 Formal Project Prize went to Dr. TSE Yee Wah with the project title "Sudden blackout of the Dräger Zeus anaesthetic machine".  

ICS - Management of Anaesthetic Critical Events (MACE)

MACE will be held on 9 and 10 July 2011 at ICS. Please click here for details or please contact ICS Manager Ms. Katherine IP at 2683-8307 or Email ipy530@ha.org.hk  

ICS – Advanced Difficult Airway Management Workshop for Anaesthetists (ADAM-A)

ADAM-A will be held on 27 August 2011 at ICS, North District Hospital. Please click here for details or please contact ICS Manager Ms. Katherine IP at 2683-8307 or Email ipy530@ha.org.hk



The certificates of the fellows below have not been collected yet. To collect your certificate, please go to the College's Office during office hour.

Chan Yau Wai; Cheng Yat Hung; Cheung Yee Nin Vivian; Kwok Keen Man; Lam, Tung Ching Doris; Li Ho Yin Adrian; Ng Nga Lai Alice; Thomas Francis Shakespeare; Wong Chau Ping Joyce; Wong Kwong Sun

Chan Choi Hung; Gomersall Charles David; Kwok Keen Man, Sin Lok Man Raymond; Tang Kin Bong; Yip Kim Ho

Chu Suk Yi Annie; Lee Yee Chi; Mak Ho Kwong Peter